Adding AD Security Groups to Dropbox

Tags Dropbox

Intended Audience: OU IT Administrators

Overview

OU Administrators may synchronize AD Security Groups. This allows IT Administrators to use existing groups for use in Dropbox and manage those groups in Active Directory without having to create and manage new groups in Dropbox.

Synchronizing a Group with Dropbox

Each unit has a group that Dropbox uses to synchronize groups. These groups are located in AD > Services > Dropbox > Groups > Delegation and any group that is added to them will be synchronized with Dropbox and available for all users to share files and folders to. Each unit's OU Administrators are able to modify their respective group.

Synchronization happens every 3 hours (12am, 3am, 6am, 9am, 12pm, 3pm, 6pm, 9pm)

Troubleshooting

The group exists in Dropbox, but it has different members than in AD

The group may already exist in Dropbox prior to synchronization. Synchronization will not overwrite an existing Dropbox group, so the Dropbox group must be either deleted or renamed prior to synchronization.

If the Dropbox group is missing members from the AD Security Group, it's possible that those members have not have access to Dropbox. Dropbox licenses may not be available for all account affiliations. You can check to see if a user is in Dropbox by trying to share a file or folder to them. When you begin typing their name or email address, they will appear in the list if their account is in Dropbox.

The group isn't appearing in Dropbox

Synchronization occurs every three hours (12am, 3am, 6am, 9am, 12pm, 3pm, 6pm, 9pm).  If the group still isn't appearing in Dropbox after synchronization, please submit a ticket for assistance.

Details

Article ID: 105671
Created
Fri 4/17/20 12:08 PM
Modified
Mon 11/16/20 3:17 PM